Jump to content


 

MESSAGE TO MEMBERS & VISITORS:  This website and forum will soon close down permanently - please see this post for details.

 

Latest Posts

What is everyone using as a Media Centre these days ?
Forum: The Ettamogah Pub
Last Reply: logifuse (Oct 20 2014 08:01 PM)
PCMediacenter.com.au is Closing Down Permanently
Forum: Site Information & Feedback
Last Reply: aanda6 (Oct 20 2014 07:06 PM)
Adding a second WIn7 MCE HTPC with USB tuner....but hit issues
Forum: Tuners - Windows 7
Last Reply: alect71 (Oct 20 2014 03:37 PM)
SiliconHill Major Cities TV Guides shutting down
Forum: Windows 7 EPG
Last Reply: Kazdalk (Oct 20 2014 05:53 AM)
Silicon hill data
Forum: Windows 7 EPG
Last Reply: Kazdalk (Oct 20 2014 04:48 AM)

Recent Topics


Photo
- - - - -

Boot Straight To Media Center


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Trev22

Trev22

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 11 February 2012 - 05:35 AM

Hi all, this is my first time on the forum so please forgive me if this has already been answered...I want to be able to have my PC boot straight into Media Center, i dont mean start with windows, but Media Center would be the first thing i see on start up...Is there an easy way to do this? Thanks :D

Edited by Trev22, 11 February 2012 - 05:39 AM.


#2 TiggerK

TiggerK

    Grand Poobah

  • Global Moderators
  • 2989 posts
  • LocationSydney

Posted 11 February 2012 - 06:17 AM

Hi Trev22,

yep, once Media Center is opened, scroll down the main menu to Tasks, and then Settings and then click OK/Enter into that. Then you should see 'General', so OK/Enter again into that option. First setting there is 'Startup and Window Behavior' - so go into that and check/tick the option marked Start Windows Media Center when Windows Starts", scroll back to 'Save' and 'OK' that, then do a few 'Back' button presses or just hit the Green Button again on the remote. Done!

Cheers
TiggerK

#3 Trev22

Trev22

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 11 February 2012 - 09:02 AM

HI Tigger, and thanks for the reply...I have done all you suggest and more, so my machine at the moments is jet black on boot, no windows start up animations or sound, no desktop icons/taskbar and so on...The problem is, media center loads with windows so you dont get a smooth path into media center, you still have to wait for it to kick in after windows has booted.I would love for the machine to start up in the media center home screen from the off! :D

#4 skypilot

skypilot

    MC Mentor

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1459 posts

Posted 11 February 2012 - 03:10 PM

I do not use that feature in WMC. Rather I have an entry in the STARTUP menu that will start WMC and go to live TV when the PC is booted. I do this by making a short cut with this switch and putting it in the startup folder I also have the short cut on the desktop:-


See here too
>http://www.pcmediacenter.com.au/forum/topic/45718-boot-straight-to-media-center/page__pid__325890#entry325890

>http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/24692-windows-media-center-start-up-customize.html



%SystemRoot%\ehome\ehshell.exe /nostartupanimation /homepage:VideoFullscreen.xml /PushStartPage:True

#5 Dean1M

Dean1M

    MC Specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 876 posts
  • LocationSouthern NSW

Posted 11 February 2012 - 03:12 PM

Media Standby Tool has an option to do this, I'm not sure how well it works as I don't use that option but why not try it out.

>http://slicksolutions.eu/mst.shtml

Deano

EDIT MST works fine with Win7

Edited by Dean1M, 11 February 2012 - 03:13 PM.


#6 joecrow

joecrow

    MC Journeyman

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 167 posts

Posted 12 February 2012 - 03:35 AM

/>
The problem is, media center loads with windows so you dont get a smooth path into media center, you still have to wait for it to kick in after windows has booted.I would love for the machine to start up in the media center home screen from the off! :D


Hi Trev22
You are correct but unfortunately that is the way it works, MCE is a Windows program/application not a standalone system. The advice given in the responses is about all you can do. Other than that, if you do not already have a solid state disc I would definitely recommend one as it will greatly speed up the Windows part of the boot process and will very smoothly and quickly go direct to MCE on resume from S3 sleep (I strongly recommend putting your MCE to sleep rather than power off/reboot, the Standby tool (MST) mentioned in one of the responses will pretty much do it all for you.)

Edited by joecrow, 12 February 2012 - 03:42 AM.


#7 Trev22

Trev22

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 13 February 2012 - 02:11 PM

Hi All, and thanks for all of your replies..I will certainly try and test them to see how i get on..Some-one i know has theirs going straight to the MC home screen from start where you see nothing else but the home screen on start up, not sure if he uses the sleep tool mentioned, but i will try it..Its a shame we are not friends, and i would have asked him how.. :rolleyes:

#8 skypilot

skypilot

    MC Mentor

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1459 posts

Posted 13 February 2012 - 05:02 PM

If you just want the WMC home page when switching on the PC then put the Green MC orb in the startup folder.

#9 Trev22

Trev22

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 15 February 2012 - 06:54 AM

Thanks Skypilot i am getting there slowly but surely...I have unfortunately come to a stand still with this..I thought by installing MB that this would work with WMC, but it appears i was wrong..When i view my content via MB, it looks brilliant with coverflow, backdrops, full scrolling synopsis, genre movie icons e.t.c e.t.c..However, viewing through the movie library icon in WMC home screen simply presents me with the movies in genre/year e.t.c and nothing else..I assumed by using MB, WMC movie library would look the same, but have i missed some configuration settings here?? I hope to get my 5TB build running and looking as smooth as poss, and i dont really want to view content via MB all the time..Can it be adopted that WMC movie library can have the same visual look when entering via its entry point??I also noticed that despite putting all my current content into genre folders, WMC lists approx 6 movies under "OTHER"??I do appreciate all the help, and hopefully 1 day, i can give as much help back to others as i have taken from here..I would send pics to better describe, but i am not too sure how to upload the 3 i took.. :mellow:

#10 dwebkombi

dwebkombi

    MC Specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 737 posts

Posted 15 February 2012 - 01:52 PM

/>Thanks Skypilot i am getting there slowly but surely...I have unfortunately come to a stand still with this..I thought by installing MB that this would work with WMC, but it appears i was wrong..When i view my content via MB, it looks brilliant with coverflow, backdrops, full scrolling synopsis, genre movie icons e.t.c e.t.c..However, viewing through the movie library icon in WMC home screen simply presents me with the movies in genre/year e.t.c and nothing else..I assumed by using MB, WMC movie library would look the same, but have i missed some configuration settings here?? I hope to get my 5TB build running and looking as smooth as poss, and i dont really want to view content via MB all the time..Can it be adopted that WMC movie library can have the same visual look when entering via its entry point??I also noticed that despite putting all my current content into genre folders, WMC lists approx 6 movies under "OTHER"??I do appreciate all the help, and hopefully 1 day, i can give as much help back to others as i have taken from here..I would send pics to better describe, but i am not too sure how to upload the 3 i took.. :mellow:

WMC movie library is what it is :blink: thats why we use use MB or MM4 (superior IMO).
They are separate programs used to replace the native movie library. MM4 has an option to remove the native library icon.
Both MB and MM have great forums which you should take a look at. Or if you have specific MB questions you could also start a new thread here. Good luck with it

#11 Trev22

Trev22

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 16 February 2012 - 02:12 PM

Hi mate, o.k thanks for the reply and the advice...I will take it all on board and see how i get on.. :D :D